Rescheduled from April 2. All tickets honored.

The Jacob Jolliff Band and Town Meeting

Sun, August 9, 2020

Port City Music Hall

Doors: 7:00pm - Show: 8:00pm - 18+

$15 advance
$18 day of show
general admission seated

The PCMH box office will open 1 hour before doors night of show.

share this event

Jacob Jolliff

Jacob Jolliff is one of the country’s premier contemporary bluegrass mandolinists. A former member of Joy Kills Sorrow and Yonder Mountain String Band, his namesake solo project is the next generation of bluegrass supergroups. The Jacob Jolliff Band features a collective quartet of some of the most virtuosic and innovative young pickers in the country, assembling for rare, not to be missed performances.

Before joining Yonder in 2015, Jacob Jolliff founded the beloved New England roots band Joy Kills Sorrow while attending Berklee School of Music on a full scholarship. The band logged three records, hundreds of shows, and thousands of miles of worldwide touring. Named the National Mandolin Championship winner in 2012, Jolliff has since been a fixture of the national bluegrass community, and has collaborated and shared the stage with Darol Anger, Sam Bush, Ronnie McCoury, Jerry Douglas, Chris Thile, and David Grisman to name a few. When Joy Kills Sorrow disbanded in 2014, Jolliff got the call to join jamgrass giant Yonder Mountain String Band, with whom he toured extensively with until 2020.

Town Meeting

Winner’s of the New England Music Award’s “2017 Roots Act of the Year,” Town Meeting is an Americana indie folk band from the Boston area.

Town Meeting has had the privilege of warming up crowds for renowned artists Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, Bob Dylan, Sturgill Simpson, Willie Nelson, Old Crow Medicine Show, The Avett Brothers, Third Eye Blind, Lettuce, The Dustbowl Revival, and many more.

Band Members:
Luke Condon: Vocals, Guitar
Russ Condon: Vocals, Drums
Tim Cackett: Mandolin, Lead Guitar, Vocals

Derek Fimbel: Bass, Banjo, Vocals
Brendan “Babe” Condon: Vocals, Harmonica, Percussion

“Short but sweet, Town Meeting’s debut EP Geography, Pt. 1 is one of the finest collections of four songs you’ll hear this year. While the band indulges in the kinds of foot stomping and gang vocals that are so popular these days, there’s an intent and substance that reminds you that this is what the Lumineers want(ed) to be.” 
~ Adobe and Teardrops, 2017 EP Review

The band just completed their second full length album “Make Things Better” due May, 2020 with Daniel Cardinal (Lakestreet Dive, Josh Ritter, Darlingside, Ballroom Thieves) at Dimension Sound Studios in Boston, MA.